The Lowell Devils

The Lowell Devils, known as the Lowell Lock Monster from 1998 to 2006, were an ice hockey team in the American Hockey League (AHL). In 2006, the Lowell Lock Monsters were purchased by the New Jersey Devils and given the name the Lowell Devils. In 2010, the Lowell Devils moved from Tsongas Center in Lowell, Massachusetts to Times Union Center in Albany, New York. Since the AHL season of 2010-2011 the team has been using the name Albany Devils.

Short facts about the Lowell Devils
City:            Lowell, Massachusetts
League:        American Hockey League
Conference:   AHL's Eastern Conference
Home arena: Tsongas Center at UMass Lowell
Colors:         Red, black, white
Owner:         New Jersey Devils

Move from Lowell to Albany

In February, 2010, the University of Massachusetts Lowell took ownership of Tsongas Center, the traditional home arena of the Lowell Devils. Up until the, the arena had been owned by the City of Lowell.
Since the current lease would expire at the end of the 2009-2010 season, the University of Massachusetts Lowell and the Lowell Devils entered into negotiations for a lease extension. No agreement was reached and in June, 2010 the New Jersey Devils – owner of the Lowell Devils – announced that the Time Union Center in Albany, New York was to be new home arena for the Lowell Devils. Since the 2010-2011 season of the American Hockey League (AHL), the team has been using the new name Albany Devils instead of Lowell Devils.

IIHF World Championship

Alongside the NHL playoffs, another ice hockey party is taking place in Riga, Latvia. The World Hockey Championship 2021 is back again where the best nations in the world compete for the world’s number one title. One of the strongest favourites this year is Sweden with many players coming from NHL to support the national squad. Read all about odds and speltips hockey (as the Swedish like to say) if you want to follow the betting party this year as it said to be impressive. Will the last year winners Finland will defend their world title, or will we see a new champion? Let us see on 6th June.