New Jersey Devils

New Jersey Devils is a professional ice hockey team in the United States. Based in Newark, New Jersey, they are members of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The New Jersey Devils have qualified for Stanley Cup Finals four times and won three - 1995, 2000 and 2003. The New Jersey Devils are famous for their defensive playing style, but their offense play have gained a lot of praise as well during recent seasons.

The New Jersey Devils can trace their history back to the Kansas City Scouts, a hockey team formed in Kansas City, Missouri in 1974. Eventually the team moved to Denver, Colorado and became the Colorado Rockies for two seasons, before settling in New Jersey in 1982.

During their first 25 seasons in New Jersey the Devils were based in East Rutherford and Brendan Byrne Arena/Continental Airlines Arena was their home arena. After the 2006-2007 season, the team moved to Newark and the newly finished Prudential Center became their new home arena.  

The early history of the New Jersey Devils is far from illustrious, but since Lou Lamoriello took over as president and general manager the team has made the playoffs for all but two years from 87/88 to 09/10. Between 1997 and 2010, the team has made the playoffs every season.

The New Jersey Devils – New York Rangers Rivalry
The Hudson River rivalry exists between the two NHL teams based in the New York metropolitan area, New Jersey Devils and New York Rangers. The two teams are “cross-river rivals” since Madison Square Garden, home arena of the New York Rangers, is located less then ten miles across the Hudson River from the Prudential Center, home arena of the New Jersey Devils.

Short facts about the New Jersey Devils
City: Newark, New Jersey
League: National Hockey League (NHL)
Conference: NHL Eastern Conference
Division: Atlantic
Home arena: Prudential Center
Founded: 1982
Colors: Red, black and white
Owner: Jeffrey Vanderbeek
General manager: Lou Lamoriello
Minor league affiliates: Albany Devils (AHL), Trenton Devils (ECHL)
Stanley Cups: 94/95, 99/00, 02/03
Conference championships: 94/95, 99/00, 00/01, 02/03